Monday, April 30, 2012


Yoga Breathing Exercises, which are called Pranayama in Sanskrit, may be done in association with yoga poses or just while sitting quietly.

There are three main types of pranayama:
  • purak (inhalation)
  • rechak (exhalation)
  • kumbhak (holding the breath); which is further divided into:
    • antara kumbhak (withholding the breath after inhalation)
    • bahar kumbhak (withholding the breath after exhalation)
    • keval kumbhak (spontaneous withholding of the breath)

* Alternate Nostril Breathing – Nadi Sodhana is a yoga pranayama that is balancing, relaxing, and calming.

No comments:

Post a Comment